Press "Enter" to skip to content

2011 presidential search committee

12/28/2011: Pernsteiner has been consulting with Senate President Kyr and acting Provost Lorraine Davis (WTF?) on names. It will be a closed search, so it’s important the committee include people the faculty trusts. There will be 15 or so people, 5 faculty. Pernsteiner gets the final pick, probably early next week. A search firm has not yet been selected, the RFP from OUS is here. The meat? Closed search, Pernsteiner and Chair Allyn Ford will not have any screening power:

All nominations, applications, and letters of inquiry will be directed to the Contractor for initial screening.  The Contractor will narrow the pool to a number of top candidates as requested by the Search Committee (hereafter “Committee”).  The Committee will be
appointed in January and will include representatives from the University’s faculty, students, classified staff, officers of administration, alumni, and donors.  Contractor will manage and maintain all aspects of a confidential website to be used by the committee for access to candidate information.  Contractor will present the credentials of the top candidates to the Committee and will assist the Committee in further narrowing the pool to a smaller group of semifinalists. 

The Committee will then meet with the semifinalists and the pool will be further narrowed.  Contractor will conduct academic and criminal background checks on remaining candidates, as directed by the Committee.  Thereafter, it is anticipated that the search will be turned over to the Committee for final interviews and recommendation pursuant to OUS rules, although Contractor participation in these activities may be required.  (The final set of interviews will be conducted by the Committee, by a separate review committee of faculty and students, and by the State Board of Higher Education.)

For the record, here’s the OUS announcement for the committee that selected Lariviere. Starting in June, it took roughly nine months. The goal this time is to do it in six, by having the committees in place before the search firm starts in February.

PORTLAND, June 6, 2008 – George Pernsteiner, chancellor of the Oregon University System, today announced the Search Committee for the next president of the University of Oregon. The new president will replace current president Dave Frohnmayer who has led the UO for the last fourteen years. Frohnmayer announced his retirement earlier this year, which will be effective in the summer of 2009.

The Search Committee will be chaired and by State Board of Higher Education member John von Schlegell of Portland. Board member Kirby Dyess of Beaverton will serve as vice-chair.

Search Committee members will include the following representatives from UO’s many constituent groups, including:

Willie Blasher, Jr., president-elect, UO Alumni Association Board of Directors; Tim Boyle, president and CEO, Columbia Sportswear; Suzanne Clark, UO professor of English; Sam Dotters-Katz, president, Associated Students of the University of Oregon; Corey du Browa, president, UO Alumni Association Board of Directors; Scott Gibson, chairman, Gibson Enterprises; Dan Giustina, managing partner, Giustina Resources; Timothy Gleason, dean, UO School of Journalism and Communication; Robin Holmes, UO vice president for Student Affairs; Dave Johnson, former CEO, KinderCare Learning Centers, Inc.; Gwen Lillis, president, UO Foundation Board of Trustees; Michael Moffitt, UO professor and associate dean of Law; Ed Ray, president, Oregon State University; Max Rayneard, UO doctoral student in Comparative Literature; Geri Richmond, UO professor of Chemistry; George Russell, superintendent, Eugene 4J School District; Sandy Schoonover, UO director of Residence Life, University Housing; Brad Shelton, UO professor of Mathematics; Mary Spilde, president, Lane Community College; Cory Streisinger, director, Department of Consumer and Business Services; Mia Tuan, UO associate professor of Education; Paul von Donkelaar, UO associate professor of Human Physiology, and president, University Senate; and Lois Yoshishige, UO student loans representative, Office of Business Affairs.

Search Committee staff contacts are Susan Weeks, OUS vice chancellor for Strategic Programs and Planning; and Tim Black, UO Public & Government Affairs.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *