Eat shit in the dark, you mushrooms:

3/6/2011: The only regular professor on the search committee for the Frances Dyke replacement is Phil Romero. Phil was the B-school dean before Jim Bean, left for a job at CSU – Los Angeles, but is now apparently back teaching business classes at UO.

There is no one else among the entire UO teaching and research faculty that President Lariviere and Provost Bean trust enough to be in the loop on the hire of our new Chief Financial Officer. There is not a single member of the UO Senate Budget Committee, of which our joint governance documents say:

The Senate Budget Committee is the University’s primary agency for faculty and student participation in fiscal policy. … The Senate Budget Committee is charged to inform itself about issues that affect the financial well-being of the University. It will advise the President and the senate on budgetary policy and long-term financial strategies, and will keep the University Senate informed about financial matters. …

Here’s the announcement:


I am pleased to share with you the individuals listed below have agreed to serve on the search committee for the university’s CFO. We have chosen Issacson, Miller as the search firm to assist the UO in recruiting our next Chief Financial Officer. Isaacson, Miller has supported several recent searches for the university, including the vice provost for enrollment management and dean of the School of Law.

We will communicate more on timelines and format as we move forward.
Please let me know if you have any questions.

All the best, Richard Lariviere

Search Committee:

Jim Bean, Senior Vice President and Provost, Chair
Tom Donohue, Student Head, UO Investment Group
Tim Gleason, Dean, School of Journalism and Communication
Gary Malone, Co-Generation Engineer, Campus Operations and Chief Steward SEIU
Jamie Moffitt, Executive Senior Athletic Director for Finance and Administration, Intercollegiate Athletics
Jay Namyet, Chief Investment Officer, UO Foundation
Marianne Nichols, Senior Associate Dean and Chief of Operations, College of Arts and Sciences
Michael Redding, Vice President for University Relations
Phil Romero, Professor of Business, Lundquist College of Business
Brad Shelton, Vice Provost for Budget and Resource
Stacey Squires, UO Foundation Trustee and President, Artisan Hedge Management, Inc.

2 people from the UO Foundation. Does this mean we get 2 professors on their board? No. State law forbids that!

Tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.