These Deady talking points are *not* for media, Deans told to stifle

Whoops. Thanks to an anonymous source for passing this on, as prepared by one of VP Kyle Henley’s PR flacks, at $115,815 a year. Note the request that Deans etc don’t talk to the press! How Trumpish.

If anyone has a copy of the talking points that were prepared for Pres Schill’s 2017 decision *not* to dename Deady, please forward them.

From: George Evano <gevano@uoregon.edu>
Sent: Thursday, June 11, 2020 9:46 AM
To: Jennifer Winters <jwinters@uoregon.edu>; Univ Communications – Storyteller Team <ADV.Email.comm.storyteller.team.email.group@uoregon.edu>; Monique Danziger <mdanzig2@uoregon.edu>; Jennifer Lindsey <jlindsey@uoregon.edu>
Cc: Jennifer Archer <jdarcher@uoregon.edu>; Jim Engelhardt <jime@uoregon.edu>; Rayna Jackson <raynaj@uoregon.edu>; Anna Sherwood <asherwoo@uoregon.edu>; Zack Barnett <zbarnett@uoregon.edu>; Nancy Novitski <novitski@uoregon.edu>; Kara Rowan <krowan@uoregon.edu>; Colleen Schlonga <colleens@uoregon.edu>; Marlene Blum <marleneb@uoregon.edu>; Jessica T. Brown <jtbrown@uoregon.edu>; Tim Jordan <tjordan@uoregon.edu>; Kate Conley <katec@uoregon.edu>; Charlie Litchfield <clitch@uoregon.edu>; Molly Blancett <blancett@uoregon.edu>; Katy George <george@uoregon.edu>; Laurie Notaro <lnotaro@uoregon.edu>; AnneMarie Knepper <aknepper@uoregon.edu>; Jim Barlow <jebarlow@uoregon.edu>; Dusty Whitaker <dustinw@uoregon.edu>; Jesse Summers <summers5@uoregon.edu>; Kyle Henley <khenley@uoregon.edu>; tova stabin <tstabin@uoregon.edu>; Marlitt Dellabough <marlitt@uoregon.edu>; Heidi Hiaasen <heidih@uoregon.edu>; Tim Christie <timc@uoregon.edu>; Lauren Stanfield <lemiller@uoregon.edu>; Caitlin Howard <choward4@uoregon.edu>; Rachael Nelson <rachaeln@uoregon.edu>; Internal Communications <comminternal@uoregon.edu>; Julianne Davis <juls@uoregon.edu>; Jim Murez <jmurez@uoregon.edu>; Kristin Strommer <kstromme@uoregon.edu>; Andra Brichacek <andra@uoregon.edu>; Kirstin Hierholzer <kirstinh@uoregon.edu>; Laura Bottem <lbottem@uoregon.edu>; Lewis Taylor <lewist@uoregon.edu>; Debbie Williamson <debbiews@uoregon.edu>; Kay Jarvis <kdjarvis@uoregon.edu>; Damian Foley <foley@uoregon.edu>; Saul Hubbard <saulh@uoregon.edu>; Matt Cooper <mattc@uoregon.edu>; Greg Bolt <gbolt@uoregon.edu>; Ed Dorsch <edorsch@uoregon.edu>; Anna Glavash <aglavash@uoregon.edu>; Cheyenne Thorpe <cthorpe@uoregon.edu>; Melody Leslie <mleslie@uoregon.edu>; Emma Oravecz <ejo@uoregon.edu>; Jett Nilprabhassorn <jettn@uoregon.edu>; Chakris Kussalanant <chakris@uoregon.edu>; Michele Ross <mross@uoregon.edu>; Melissa Foley <mfoley@uoregon.edu>; David Austin <dmaustin@uoregon.edu>

Subject: Deady Hall Talk Points

Hi Everyone,

Attached please find a copy of the communications talk points around the president’s Deady Hall recommendation. These talking points have been sent to senior leaders, deans, and development officers to use in formal and informal communications and conversations with internal and external constituencies. These are not for use with the media. If you receive media request for comment, please have them refer them to Kay Jarvis.

You can also see them in the Team for Racial Climate – where they are updated in real time. Let us know if you want to be a member of that group, which has some excellent resources contributed by tova and others.

Tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to These Deady talking points are *not* for media, Deans told to stifle

  1. Just Another Volunteer says:

    Unless it was your intention to DOX everyone on the cc list I’d suggest to remove the names paired with email addresses. Way to easy to scrape.

    • uomatters says:

      In Oregon, state employees’ work email addresses are public records, and posted all over the UO website, available at https://www.uoregon.edu/findpeople/, etc. I’m leaving these here because it helps make the point about large UO’s PR office is.

      • Just Another Volunteer says:

        there is a difference between discoverable by a human using that search and scrap-able by a spam engine from an unprotected web page.

        • uomatters says:

          True, but a quick google search will reveal many ways to scrape websites such as UOs. Some proprietary, others free and open-source in python etc. I would guess this has been done many times.

          • Just Another Volunteer says:

            So, to be clear, it was your intention to expose those named in the cc to additional risks on the Internet *just* because they received this message?

        • bobbyb says:

          It took me 5 minutes and 12 lines of code to write a script that scrapes names and email from the UO directory:

          from bs4 import BeautifulSoup
          import requests
          def get_email(url):
          html = requests.get(url).text
          soup = BeautifulSoup(html, “lxml”)
          name = soup.find(“div”, attrs={“class”: “field-data”}).text
          email = soup.find(“div”, attrs={“class”: “email field”}).text
          return [name, email]
          for i in range(1, 100000):
          try: print(get_email(“https://www.uoregon.edu/findpeople/person/personid/”+str(i)))
          except AttributeError:
          pass

          You can miss me with the faux concern over internet security. Maybe your angst would be better aimed at the Director of Communications who doesn’t know how to use bcc.

      • Curious George says:

        Speaking of how large the PR office is, WTF is “Univ Communications – Storyteller Team”?

  2. The Mediocre Opinion Man says:

    The talking points seem mostly appropriate right until the part where Pres. Schill’s name comes up. If it’s all PR anyway, why are we specifically denying that UO is a school where black and other minority student voices are heard, but rather an institution under our president’s grand vision? Who could have possibly suggested that this is a concern that must be addressed?

  3. Bee says:

    When it comes to face-saving, no dollar spared for excellence!

  4. Thomas Hager says:

    I know that “PR flacks” are a popular target, but I see no problem with this. When controversy hits, it is more or less standard operating procedure for any large organization to share basic information and suggest common talking points. Asking that media requests be referred to the PR office is also standard, and different from saying “Thou shalt not talk to media.” More worrisome to me are commenters’ suggestions that recipients might be somehow targeted for harassment.

    • charlie says:

      Why would a professor (dean) need to refer information requests to a PR office? If a citizen was to request information, or insight, from an academic department, would they need to go to Marketing? And why would any PR representative have a better point of view than someone who has an expertise in a field of study? What you’re saying hardly does much for diversity of views, which I thought was the actual mandate of a university..,

    • oldtimer says:

      Thanks for your perspective. Whether folks agree or dis agree, you’ve always offered honest, professional persective.

  5. uomatters says:

    Readers may be surprised at the unusually large number of likes and dislikes to the comments on this post. This appears to be the action of PR flacks and/or their friends, using a VPN to login from multiple countries to defeat the like software’s rudimentary methods to defeat multiple responses. Iceland? Really? Who has time for this? Please stop it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.